The 25th Anniversary  of the MTV Movie Awards hosted by Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and Kevin Hart aired April 10, 2016. The show took place from the streets of Warner Brother Studios in Burbank, California. The show opened with the duo’s over the top entrance while dressed as if they were in a scene from “Mad Max: Fury Road” followed by minutes of  insults, jokes,  and a rap sketch titled “When Leo Got F—ed by a Bear.” The opening was quite dirty and a little awkward.

Chris Pratt gave the best acceptance speech. He thanked all those action hero actors who came before him including “Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone, Jackie Chan, Jason Statham, Liam Neeson, Harrison Ford, Eric Roberts, Anthony Mackie, and God. Oh, and MTV Movie Awards co-host Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson.”

Will Smith received The Generation Award presented to him by friends, Queen Latifah and Haley Barry. The Lonely Island (comedians: Akiva Schaffer, Andy Samberg, and Jorma Taccone) performed a comedic musical melody that included  “Summertime”,”Men in Black,” and the “The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air” theme song.

Melissa McCarthy makes history as being the first woman to receive the Comedic Genius Award. “I may be the first woman to receive this award, but I am certainly not the first one to deserve it,” McCarthy said during her acceptance speech. “I’m a walking human patchwork of all the funny women I have loved and studied over the years.”

Throughout the show actors presented trailers to upcoming films. Chris Evans debuted an exclusive clip from his upcoming film “Captain America: Civil Wars” as did “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” star Eddie Redmayne, and Will Smith along with his “Suicide Squad” cast mates Jared Leto, Margot Robbie and Cara Delevingne.

Ariana Grande hit the stage performing her smash hit, “Dangerous Woman”  and singer/songwriter Halsey, who performed her new song “Castle” from the soundtrack of “The Huntsman: Winter’s War.

Salt and Pepper performed after Ryan Reynolds was announced as the winner of Best Comedic Performance.

Presenters also took to the stage, including Charlize Theron, Kendrick Lamar, Chris Hemsworth, Jessica Chastain, Seth Rogen, Zac Efron, Olivia Munn, Samuel L. Jackson, Kendall Jenner, and Gigi Hadid.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Movie of the Year: “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”
MTV Generation Award: Will Smith
Comedic Genius Award: Melissa McCarthy
Best Male Performance: Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Revenant”
Best Female Performance: Charlize Theron, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Breakthrough Performance: Daisy Ridley, “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”
True Story: “Straight Outta Compton”
Documentary: “Amy”
Best Comedic Performance: Ryan Reynolds, “Deadpool”
Best Fight: Deadpool (Ryan Reynolds) vs. Ajax (Ed Skrein), “Deadpool”
Best Kiss: Rebel Wilson & Adam DeVine, “Pitch Perfect 2”
Best Villain: Adam Driver, “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”
Best Action Performance: Chris Pratt, “Jurassic World”
Best Virtual Performance: Amy Poehler, “Inside Out”
Ensemble Cast: “Pitch Perfect 2”
Best Hero: Jennifer Lawrence, “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 2”